Expensive Tomatoes

I am not a gardener.  I love gardens, but I don’t want to do the work that they require.  No bending, no digging, no swatting insects, no getting drenched by hoses that apply more water to my shoes than my plants.  I want to sit among gorgeous, fragrant flowers, and eat succulent tomatoes from healthy, well-tended plants. I also want a full time, dedicated, talented gardener to manage this mini-farm for me, a fantasy similar to winning the lottery.

In the spring, when I was seduced by sunshine and cool nights, I phoned the wonderful young woman who shows up with her crew about once a month to weed whack the yard, and told her I had visions of a vegetable plot. After a long silence, she suggested beginning with a few containers [she knows me well], and within a few weeks I had tomato plants, herbs, a pepper plant, an eggplant , and a squash plant, all irrigated, fertilized and screened from bugs and birds.

[The screening was my idea so that I could further neglect the plants with ease.]

April and May brought lots of green growth, fruit blossoms and high hopes.  I even managed to spray [a product approved for organic vegetables] and fertilize the containers once or twice.  One evening, after reading an article that reminded me fruit blossoms need to be pollinated, I ran to the yard, opened the screens that surrounded each pot, and shook the plants wildly to emulate wind.  Within a few weeks, a green tomato showed up on one plant, and a small purple pepper on another.   The herbs were in herb heaven, growing into small bushes.  My gardening was good.

Then we went out of town at the end of May for two weeks.  What could go wrong?  Apparently quite a bit.  I came home to stripped stems, holes in the tomatoes, chewed leaves, and blossoms fallen off the vines, lying in piles in the bottom of the pots.  I rushed cuttings to the garden supply center and was told by one they were over-watered, by another they had a fungus,  by a third they had a blight.  I bought anti-fungus spray and rushed to the rescue.  

The pepper plant was a loss with only one tiny pepper to harvest, smaller than a lemon.  The squash and eggplants were totaled, the herbs stripped, and the tomatoes in a sorry state.  I ripped out, pruned, sprayed and fertilized again.  I removed the screens from the worst pots [what harm could bugs and birds do at this point?] but left one screen protecting the few tomatoes for which I still had hope.

It’s now the end of June; we’ve enjoyed one small Celebrity tomato, one little pepper,  and a few tiny Golden Mamas sliced with fresh basil, and they were wonderful.  But expensive.  New tomato plants and herbs are in the pots, and I’m starting over, armed with great respect for real farmers and unrealistic expectations for a late summer harvest.

7 thoughts on “Expensive Tomatoes

  1. Another well written, entertaining entry, Sally. I actually “grew” a green thumb this year, too. I have only one tomato plant with one little green growth popping out. Also have rosemary and sage. We’ve had so much rain that I haven’t had to water at all.
    Looking forward to your next adventure. Better luck on your second round.
    Vicki

    • Thanks for checking out the site Vicki!  I appreciate your comments and wish you better luck than I’ve had so far; I think your cooler nights must be good for harvests!  Those few bites are so worth the effort…   

  2. Well I am impressed with your gardening efforts. I am slowly coming around to believing veggies are worth it. I’ve eschewed mostly because flowers are so much easier and the availability of farmer’s markets have encouraged the sloth in me. But Rob has gotten into herbs and her home grown arugula is fantastic, her lemon basil superb. And her parsley makes me realize parsley actually has taste. So. She’s trying tomatoes now and it seems magical – I mean there are little green balls actually forming. I WILL be interested in learning what your second effort brings forth….or harvests as one might say.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment, Marian.  Believe me, if we had good farm markets nearby I would never make the effort to try this, but no such luck.  After upstate NY, where I acquired a taste for home grown tomatoes and sweet corn, nothing from the grocery store has satisfied.  Now I have to wait for our heat to dissipate before trying out some lettuce, which I’ll do later in the season.    

  3. I do have to say we have a wealth of farmer’s markets from which to choose and one can easily drop $100 on tomatoes, corn, cherries, blueberries, a raft of veggies, and flowers. Ahh yes, flowers. My flower man’s eyes light up when he espies me. When I think about cutting back (retirement looms), I think well, yes, flowers followed by Amazon.

  4. I think my thumb is green when I grow basil, rosemary, mint, chives and arugula…I think my thumb is brown when I try tomatoes, peppers, dill, cilantro and berries…so if you put my two thumb colors together….you get brown. Sigh. Loved your post.

    • After eating the last tomato just this evening that I will get from the first “harvest’ [if I can call it that with so few pieces of fruit on the vine], I still have to believe it’s worth a try…  maybe it’s scarcity that makes whatever arrives so delicious.  Thanks for coming to the site, Susan!  

Leave a comment